

Commission for Educational Quality and Accountability

REGULAR MEETING MINUTES

June 20, 2018, 1:30 P.M. 840 Research Parkway, Suite 450 Oklahoma City, OK 73104

COMMISSION MEMBERS PRESENT: Amy Bixler, Doug Brown, Dr. Bo Hannaford,

Phredd Evans and Secretary of Education and Workforce Development Melissa McLawhorn

Houston

COMMISSION MEMBERS ABSENT: Bruce Day

OTHER REGULAR ATTENDEES: Office of Educational Quality and Accountability

Staff: Dr. Daniel Craig, Angie Bookout, Abby Murphey, Lecrecia Schmidt and Jerry Shay

VISITORS: Goldie Thompson, Oklahoma State Regents for

Higher Education; Tony Cortez, ACT; Lisa

McHughes, Department Of Labor; Marsha Herron, Langston University; Lisa Lohmann, University of

Central Oklahoma; Ruth Jackson, Langston

University; Sidney Lee, eCapitol

Call to Order: Secretary of Education and Workforce Development Melissa McLawhorn Houston called the meeting to order at 1:30 P.M.

Introduction of Commission Members and Roll Call: Secretary of Education and Workforce Development Melissa McLawhorn Houston asked for the roll call to be taken. Five Commission members were present, and it was established that a quorum existed.

Welcome from Dr. Daniel Craig: Dr. Daniel Craig welcomed everyone to the meeting.

Approval of Minutes from the March 14, 2018 Commission Meeting: Mr. Evans made a motion to approve the minutes of the March 14, 2018 Commission meeting as submitted. Dr. Hannaford seconded the motion. The motion passed as per the following vote:

Ms. Bixler:approveDr. Hannaford:approveMr. Brown:approveMr. Evans:approve

Mr. Day: absent Secretary Houston: abstain

Discussion and action on Continued State Accreditation for Langston University: Dr. Hannaford made a motion to approve seven years of continued state accreditation for Langston University. Mr. Brown seconded the motion. The motion passed as per the following vote:

Ms. Bixler: approve Dr. Hannaford: approve Mr. Brown: approve Mr. Evans: approve

Mr. Day: absent Secretary Houston: abstain

Quality and Accountability program updates included: Program Review Advisory Board, Oklahoma School Performance Reviews, CAEP visits, Standard settings, 2017 School Profile Reports.

New Business: None

Announcements and Informational Items:

Melissa McLawhorn Houston, Chairman

The meeting adjourned at 2:58 P.M. The minutes of the June 20, 2018 regular meeting of the Commission for Educational Quality and Accountability were approved (circle one)

	as submitted	with corrections
on August 15, 2018.		
Signed:		

Page 2 of 2

Dr. Daniel Craig, Executive Director